Weekly Photo Challenge: Down


This week’s photo theme is “Down” and so I thought it would be a good time to show you our staircase. And admit that until last week, I was really confused when it came to figuring out what floor we actually lived on. You would think that climbing up all these stairs would make it really clear. And I kept counting but somewhere in climbing up all those stairs, I kept losing a level. And I did this nearly every day for a month. It would bug me because I never felt like I got it right but I thought we lived on the 6th floor (that would be 5th in Britain and France) so I just kept on trying to make the numbers work. It was a classic case of knowing what the outcome should be and trying to crunch the data to make it fit. So it wasn’t until I was outside our building that I realized it would be a lot easier to count the stories from the street than try to count them while I was climbing. And we live on the 7th story. I’m sort of embarrassed to admit it took me six weeks to figure that out, but it did, and that is that. The other weird thing about always having to climb and descend all these stairs, is that sometimes I swear it’s faster to descend than ascend.

Have a great weekend!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Photo Project, photography, Weekly Photo Challenge, WP Weekly Photo Challengs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Down

  1. I love stair photos!!! This is gorgeous!!! Love that your feet is visible!!! Makes it real!!! 🙂 When I was still in varsity, I lived on the13th floor (we have ground level & then start with level 1)… & when I took the stairs I also could never keep track on how many floors I have done/have left… Just had to keep going to the top!!! 🙂 **

    • Rebecca says:

      13 floors is a long way up! Good for the glutes but no fun with a load of groceries. I’ll remember your 13 flights when I’m sick of my seven! Also glad to know that other people have a hard time keeping track. Thanks!

  2. ccassello says:

    I could get dizzy looking down over this stairs and I am glad I don’t have to climb them. Three short flights, with landings between them, that I have is enough. I wanted to live on the top floor of our building doe the exercise though.

  3. Max Reynolds says:

    Love this photo, because of the color of the carpet runner on the stair. It’s almost as if it adds life to it. Thanks for sharing.

  4. jeanne says:

    great shot…love the carpet!

  5. Karin says:

    I actually started breathing heavily from exhaustion just by imagining walking up those stairs each day

    • Rebecca says:

      Ha! It is a climb. I start to get a bit winded on the 5/6th floor. Which is much better than when I first arrived. Looking forward to the day when I don’t even think about the climb!

  6. Zelmare says:

    Gorgeous picture – love the vibrant colours! 🙂

Leave a comment