Riding the Metro in Paris


Every time I get on the metro I am surprised how how twisty the routes actually are. The trains go up and down, turn left and right, cross other lines. I would love to see an actual map of what all those tunnels look like from above, because I’m pretty sure it doesn’t look like this:

When you’re used to basing your point of reference on a map like this, it can be disorienting because I’m pretty sure that the metro system probably looks nothing like this in reality. I did find one map that seems to be a bit more accurate:

Geographically Accurate Paris Metro Map - You should be able to click on it to enlarge it.

That tangle of lines seems to more accurately represent what a trip on the metro feels like. Isn’t it amazing how the usual map makes so everything more clear by adjusting the distances and spacing so that it really isn’t a representation of reality but is much more useful? Anyway, these are the things I think about when I’m riding the metro.

Yesterday, we enjoyed a beautiful Lenten service at church. It was wonderful to meditate on this special time of year and prepare our hearts for Easter. I’m actually giving up a few things for Lent this year – it’s my first time and I’m excited about the spiritual discipline of it. And it makes the anticipation of the joy of Easter even more special. In the midst of these lovely thoughts, I reached forward to grab one of the “connection cards” in front of me and found that it had been filled out already. By a very bored, and slightly naughty, little kid. So our spiritual revery was interrupted by this:

Apparently King Philiip 1st and Louis IIV were sitting in our seats during the earlier service. If you’re interested in contacting them, they can be found at Farttown 100BC. Or if you’d rather call, you can reach their home phone at 12345 or their mobile at 678910. And if you find it easier to email them, it’s an easy address to remember: poop@poop.com. And on the back of the card you can read about King Philiip’s interests:

Ah, little kids. Remember when it felt like saying the word “turd” was über-bad?

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris, Paris and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Riding the Metro in Paris

  1. POP says:

    Looks to me like they should have been in the ‘Children’s Worship’ service!:-)
    That’s pretty hilarious . . . and besides being bored they were hungry besides.

  2. Hilarious!!! 😀 Oh my word….. sooooo funny!!! 🙂 I’ve also thought about the real routes of the metro’s (but never enough to go and see if I could find a more accurate map)!!! Very interesting!!! 🙂 **

  3. thepoolman says:

    I just discovered your blog and am excited to go back and catch up with your earlier posts. I visited Paris for the first time last March-April for just a couple of days. We had a number of “adventures” on the Metro system. My wife and I are now planning a return trip this fall. Can’t wait!

    • Rebecca says:

      You’re visiting at a great time of year! Do bring a sweater or light jacket as the breezes can be chilly, but we’re starting to see more sun so when you arrive it should be perfect! Enjoy your trip!

  4. POP says:

    Imagine what the Metro would look like without a plan

Leave a Reply

