Paris Fashion Week is Ridiculous


I know, blasphemy, right? Especially for anyone living in Paris. This past fall, when we were living more in the center of things you could definitely tell that things were happening in the city. Now that I’m tucked into the 5th, it’s not so in-my-face. And I’m thankful for that. Scotty’s been out of town since Wednesday and so I decided to head over to the Tulieries on Thursday afternoon. I’d forgotten that this was the fashion week in Paris so I was surprised to see all the tents and photographers milling around. Ahh, yes, it’s that time of year.

Thankfully, it was during a lull in all the activity, as evidenced by these cool old guys playing boules.

They weren’t bothered by all the fuss. Because it was between shows, I spotted a few harried interns dragging around gear.

It was still sort of chaotic even though not a lot was going on. And that’s where this week is so ridiculous. When walking around this area of town, everyone is checking everyone else out. I think that in reality there are probably about ten super famous people in town, and about a million people who want to be famous or who want to see a celebrity. It is so weird to walk around because everyone and I mean everyone is checking everyone out. Walking three blocks down Rue Rivoli means being checked out about three hundred times. I was talking with a friend the next day and she had been in the same area earlier in the day in the height of all the madness. She didn’t know it was fashion week but she was given the once over so many times she actually stopped in the middle of the sidewalk and looked down to make sure she hadn’t put on two different shoes. THAT’s how crazy it is.

The streets, stores, cafes, sidewalks are all packed with preternaturally tall women with brightly painted lips (I seriously dislike that trend), or chicly dressed men in scarves and hats. It’s fun to see all the outfits, I will admit that. But then there are the Sartorialist stalkers. They’re easy to spot. They have some sort of funky outfit on – usually super chunky, architectural shoes, short chic skirt and oversized sweater, and they seem to just be sitting around waiting for the famous photog to show up and see the brilliance of their clothing choices and immortalize them on his blog.

So, it’s a crazy week and if you’re self conscious at all, I would avoid the 2nd. If you like lots of attention, head on over, and make sure to wear something interesting.

I was more interested in the amazing sky. I mean, seriously, have you ever seen anything this beautiful on a runway?

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris, Paris, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Paris Fashion Week is Ridiculous

  1. zelmare says:

    Sounds crazy! Love your last 2 pictures. 🙂

  2. Hahaha…. madness!!!!! I also prefer the sunsets!!!! – – – always “in style” !!!! 🙂 **

    • Rebecca says:

      Sunsets are one of those universals – have you ever heard anyone say “That is sure an ugly sunset”? Love that in the midst of such subjective “beauty”, there was something good, true and beautiful.

  3. POP says:

    Hushed tones now Becca . . . don’t want to upset the hottie-totties .

  4. Bethy Manor says:

    Becca, I have to admit, that for me it would be a blast to see a few models, but they are way too skinny! I love your sunset pics! Are they in sepia or is that the actual color?

    • Rebecca says:

      Yes, there were a few tall, super skinny models stalking the streets. As far as the sunset photos, I adjusted my camera and caught the low light – no sepia tone adjustment. I was lucky to hit it at just the right moment.

  5. Interesting post. Fashion week sounds crazy! And I must agree the sunsets are way more beuatiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

