Stormy Sunshine on the Seine


Earlier in my mom and sisters’ visit we decided to hop on a Batobus and ride along the Seine. I had never done this and it was such a wonderful experience to see Paris from the water. It’s a completely different view! The weather here has been unpredictable, to put it mildly, and this was never so apparent as it was on this 45 minute ride. We boarded in a torrential downpour broken up by bits of sunshine.

And then it really started pouring. The wind was blowing and rain was beating down. The water was getting choppy. It was pretty impressive. 

But as suddenly as it came, the weather broke and everything turned brilliant. I guess the air was full of positive ions because the colors were spectacular! 

Scotty was our fearless leader. He did great being the only guy in a gaggle of girls. They named him their “Braveheart” for his willingness to patiently engage with seven girls and women on his own!

The old dillapitated Samaritaine building even looks pretty from the water!

Gorgeous Pont Neuf looks even prettier with a storm behind it. 

What a spot to read and soak up some sun!

The lovely Musée D’Orsay

We got off at Pont Alexander so we could get some crêpes for the hungry travelers.

More Paris “graffiti”. You often find these little men helping hold up the white line in the “Do Not Enter” signs.

Katie and Tot enjoy their lunch.

The flower beds on the Champs Élysées were beautiful. What a fun afternoon! The weather made a perfect backdrop for seeing the city in all its glory and drama. I would highly recommend a boat tour of the city. If you want to just see the city and not have commentary, the Batobus is the way to go. Otherwise, there are all sorts of tour companies who will provide commentary in dozens of languages.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Family, flowers, Life in Paris, Paris, Paris Gardens, photography, travel, Visitors, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Stormy Sunshine on the Seine

  1. Fab post! Sounds great. My sister is in Paris now and mentioned a cruise along the Seine; now I can see what she was experiencing. 🙂

  2. POP says:

    To Braveheart-
    Despite the slightly overwhelmed look, I’ve heard, you have been having a marvelous time!
    Sunshine and showers, and ladies, how does it get any better than that?

  3. Hilary says:

    Oh, Scotty… I’m just so very sorry. On a lighter note, Julia’s eyes are an incredible blue! Beautiful! Great post Becca and fantastic photos.

    • Rebecca says:

      🙂 Scotty’s been a trooper! And, thanks for your kind comments! We need to get caught up. Things quiet down here on Saturday so let’s talk soon.

  4. Wow Becca!!! The colours are so vibrant – do you use a polarised filter?? it almost looks like when I look through my polarised sunglasses!!! Gorgeous!! Looks like a fun day… 🙂 **

    • Rebecca says:

      Thanks Xandré! The colors were incredible. I was just using my regular lens! For some reason the blues and greens really popped after the storm. 🙂

  5. Bethy Manor says:

    There’s nothing I love better than a stormy sea day with choppy waters mixed with sunshine and clouds! It’s great to be on the water at such a time and you captured it beautifully! Scotty looks like he faring pretty well, too!

  6. cynthiaclairebruni says:

    Stunning photos Becca! I thought the golden steeds atop the Pont Alexander were particularly striking against the blue-gray skies.

  7. karintome says:

    I know I should think of William Wallace when I hear “Braveheart,” but there’s a total Christian chick book called “Bravehearts” which is what immediately came to mind. Sorry, Scotty 🙂

    I could look at your photos forever, Becca!

Leave a Reply

