Grand Palais


One week from today, Scotty and I will leave Paris, belongings in hand and make our way to Edinburgh. There we will celebrate his graduation and say goodbye to friends who have grown so dear over the past five years. It’s strange to think that on the 28th we will be leaving this continent that has been home for nearly five years. It’s melancholy and yet I’m also excited to see what the future holds for us.

As we just have a week left, I’m feeling like I should be wanting to see all the sights we’ve missed, eat meals at restaurants we’ve been meaning to try, you know get all those last minute things done. But I don’t. The rainy weather may be to blame, but I think it has something to do with the fact that this was home for a year and I’m no longer in tourist mode. So, it’s nice to just work, see a few things if it works out, and focus on sorting and packing. I have a big work project I’m trying to finish up so that may play in to it, but overall, I think the next six days in Paris will be pretty mundane. That being said, about a week ago, Scotty and I checked out the Grand Palais. I’d been wanting to see the inside of this amazing structure and there was a sort of funky exhibit on, so we stopped by for a visit.

I don’t really have a lot to say about the exhibit except that it was interesting in a sort of mundane way. The building on the other hand is great! This space is used for so many different purposes. Did you know that Hermés puts on an equestrian show here every year. Yep, they bring in wood chips, set up a jumping course, bring in stadium seating. The most beautiful horses compete, all outfitted in handcrafted Hermés saddles and bridles. I’ll bet it’s incredible to see.

While we were there we met a couple from Australia and another couple from New Zealand. They were so friendly and it was fun to talk to them. Hearing them talk about their home countries really made Scotty and I want to save up for a trip down under. So, as we say goodbye to Europe, maybe we’ll be saying hello to other exciting places. But before that happens, we should probably just focus on settling down after upcoming summer of craziness.

OK, and after looking at these pictures, the exhibition was pretty cool! :-)

 

 

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Grand Palais

  1. zelmare says:

    I would be very sad to leave Paris…But good luck to you and Scotty for your future! This is a gorgeous building. That mezzanine is spectacular! :)

  2. I love those diaphanous jewel tones!

  3. Graham Chernoff says:

    Look, you’re on the same wavelength (no pun intended harharhar) as a fancy-schmancy design magazine: http://www.azuremagazine.com/newsviews/blog_content.php?id=2088. You’re so cutting edge! And what is that cool camera you’ve got?

  4. Iain-down under says:

    Thanks for your great blog, it was great to actually visit some of the places you have mentioned when we were there in May. We really enjoyed ourselves particularly staying on the Ile St Louis and the Cafe St Regis was a favourite haunt of ours whilst there. I do hope you get to Australia & NZ sometime, I’m sure you’d love it.

  5. Aaaah – that’s soooooooooo sad you’ll be leaving!! Excited for what the future holds for you!! :) Enjoy your last couple of days!! :) **

  6. thepoolman says:

    I have really enjoyed reading of your Paris adventures. Good luck with the next chapter.

  7. Melissa says:

    Morning Becca!
    How I love to read your blog, see your adventures, hear what’s happening on the other side of the world and appreciate all you share with us. You have such a great eye for things and an unspoiled and appreciative take on wherever you are and what you are seeing.!! So gifted. America will be a bit bland compared to your last five years, but hopefully we will be able to see you more often!! You are a treasure! Europe’s loss is our gain!
    Hugs,
    Mel

Leave a Reply

