Hello from Sunny South Florida


The beach we can now walk to! Seriously. Come visit.

The beach we can now walk to! Seriously. Come visit.

Wow! It took a while but we’ve landed. Since leaving Paris 64 days ago Scotty and I have:

  • slept in 12 different beds
  • driven ten different cars (one of which we bought, another was a 12 foot moving truck)
  • been in ten different airports
  • driven over 2000 miles
  • passed through or stayed in fourteen states
  • and survived one night in a fleabag hotel, half of which was condemned. The fact that it was in north Georgia made it feel very Deliverance.

My view from the kitchen sink. Makes dishes a lot easier! And…having a dishwasher for the first time in ten years also makes that a much easier chore.

Needless to day it’s been an adventure. Scotty turned into a doctor, celebrated a birthday, and we marked seven years of marriage. We celebrated my brother’s marriage to the wonderful Becca. Spent time with family and friends, and were continually blown away by their generosity. From Edinburgh to Florida to New York to St. Louis to California, we’ve been so blessed by some of our favorite people. Having these little respites in the midst of great change has been soul-soothing. A million thanks to each of you who made this transition easier. 

I snapped this pick one my one visit to the beach. We’ve been to busy to actually enjoy it but are looking forward to making time once things settle down a bit.

And now we’re living in South Florida. Who would have thought? After five years in rainy climates I am seriously digging the sunshine. Even though everyone keeps telling me this is the worst possible time to come to this area, I love the fact that I’m no longer bundled in sweaters, scarves, wool socks, and boots. And waking up to sunshine every day – that’s an adjustment that’s been easy to make.

Yes, our building is really ugly, see above right. But I’m a pretty big fan of the view.

Overall, it’s been a wonderful, crazy, exhausting, refreshing, and exciting summer. We finally landed this past Tuesday and are now working on making our apartment feel more like home. It’s pretty bare right now as we forgot we really don’t own much furniture. If you were to look at us and judge us by our possessions right now you’d think we were book-loving, foodie vagabonds. And I guess you wouldn’t be all that far off.

As we get settled and I have time to upload some of the pictures I took, I will be posting more as well as getting some posts up about the past two months. I haven’t been taking many pictures (all the pictures in this post were snapped on my phone) but am looking forward to capturing the beauty and craziness that is South Florida. This place is a trip!

So if you’re one of the few readers who managed to stick with me over the past weeks of silence, thank you! I’m also going to be taking suggestions for new blog titles. Can’t really call it “Paris at my doorstep” anymore, which is kinda sad. Look ahead for notes on the challenges of repatriation, observations of life in Florida, beach pictures, and more.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hello from Sunny South Florida

  1. katemai says:

    How about “We’re Coasting”?
    Glad you are happy in your new nest. I’ll try to supply your Paris fix!

  2. Gina says:

    Welcome back! I’ve missed you. :)

  3. POP says:

    Welcome back to America . . . just in time to vote . . . seems like there is always an election.
    Seriously have missed your delightful blog postings . . . S Florida will provide a new twist and some dandy material I’m sure. Glad you have a guest room.

  4. Beccccaaaaaaaaaaaa!!! I’ve missied your posts so bad!! So glad to hear that you’re settling in well & that your big move have been made easier by the gorgeous people you have in your life!! Sounds like a fantastic adventure!! Looking very much forward to hearing more of it!! Keep well!! :) **

  5. Nathalie says:

    Great to see a new post! I look forward to hearing all about Florida life and maybe you’ll also learn to appreciate the awesomeness of brutalist architecture!

  6. Becky says:

    Yeah! Can’t wait for all the new installments!

  7. zelmare says:

    Wow! I’m exhausted just hearing about it!!!! But it does sound like a fun time was had by all. :) Enjoy the start of this new life in a new place!!!

  8. Melissa says:

    Hurrah!! Becca is back!! Yeah!! Congrats on landing in the USA this time, you family here at the coast is thrilled you are closer. Yet is America as exotic as your last 5 years?? Most likely not but I look forward to finding out about Florida from you and visiting when I come to see one of my BFF from high school next spring. Hugs and Love,
    Mel

  9. Melissa says:

    How about Florida footsteps or Footsteps from Florida??

  10. Sloane says:

    Yay! Welcome back to blogging, I’ve missed you! Glad you’re getting some sun, what a difference it makes, right? In P-town the whole city gets into a better mood for about 3 months a year, it’s fabulous.

  11. It’s so fun living vicariously through you….can’t wait for your next adventure. Hope you find a great church and make tons of fantastic friends!!

  12. Jackie says:

    I’m so happy for you guys! Excited to read about your sunny adventures! Go Bucs!

Leave a Reply

