Saying goodbye to Paris


I’ve been a bit hesitant to go back and write these older entries about our last days in France and Scotland because I have been afraid that I will be hit with some pretty intense homesickness. So far the transition to the States has been pretty smooth but it’s also been pretty hectic and now that the dust is settling, both Scotty and I are feeling the loss. So, here goes nothin’.

On our last Sunday in Paris, Scotty and I checked off a few of the last things we had been wanting to do. We also decided to celebrate our anniversary a bit early knowing we really wouldn’t have a chance to mark those special seven years while we were in Edinburgh.  So, first we were off to the beautiful Paroisse Saint-Etienne-du-Mont, a church we’d walked past dozens of times but never took the time to stop in. I was so glad we did, it is amazing! There is this gorgeous altar/balcony carved from solid stone but somehow appears airy and ethereal.

Isn’t it lovely? Well, by then we had to quickly make our way to our lunch spot. We’d been wanting to check out Le Comptoir du Relais St. Germaine after hearing and reading about it for a while. It’s the first sort of gastropub run by a Michelin starred chef and has gained quite a reputation. Getting a table at night requires a several month wait, but you can get in line for lunch. So we biked down to Saint Germain and took our places in line.

Classic French bistro chairs.

The swanky hotel that is a part of the restaurant.

And at noon the velvet cord was lifted and we were seated. It was delicious! After about ten months of access to all sorts of rich Gallic classics, I have to admit to some French food fatigue. I tended toward classics because I wanted to see what little flairs were added and I wasn’t disappointed.

Parisian lunch is not complete without a Rosé.

The rabbit terrine starter.

I’d heard great things about their homemade mayonnaise so we went for the Oeufs Avec Mayonnaise. I must say I was disappointed to see grey edges around the yolks. I mean, I can make hard boiled eggs that are prettier than these…

Scotty’s steak plat. The sauce was amazing!

And, yes, I went for the Steak Tartar avec Oeuf Cru! Mmmm. It was one of the best I’ve had in Paris. The homemade pickles really completed it!

It was a really fun way to spend a few hours, sitting on the sidewalk, eating delicious food, watching all the interesting people passing by. And then it was off to our next stop, the Parc des Buttes Chaumont.

This strange place was built in the 19th century as a sort of urban getaway for the working classes. It was a massive public works project that included the construction of concrete mountains (buttes), streams, wading pools, and pathways. As we happened to be visiting on the sunniest Sunday for weeks, it was packed. There was quite the array of people and we really enjoyed walking through the funny hills and valleys. Over time errosion has caused the concrete structures to weather and they’re looking a bit more natural.

The pagoda at the top of the hill in the distance marks the highest point in the park.

I love the little pop of red in this picture from the one awning.

After lingering for a little while we headed back to our little flat in time to enjoy one more amazing sunset.

I do really miss that view…although I am loving my spacious new apartment.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Saying goodbye to Paris

  1. Melissa says:

    Lovely hardly describes it, but I have so enjoyed all your pics of Paris. Someday I will travel there and see what you have shared. Thank you!
    Hugs,!

  2. audrey says:

    I”m sorry you had to say goodbye to paris…it is stunning. i imagine there are a lot of emotions piping through your sweet heart as life settles into normal…ON THE BEACH!!!!

  3. Michael says:

    Thank You, I’ve enjoyed all your pictures from Paris and Edinburgh. Your pictures from Edinburgh were so lovely. I visited Scotland for the first time, this March, when I went to visit my daughter in the Scottish Highlands, and just had to spend a few days in Edinburgh. I’ve never been to Paris, hope to go some day. Wishing you all the best in Florida. Was there once to visit my now deceased Grandparents, who lived in West Palm Beach. The sunshine state, but you should see a lot of rain too.

  4. Paris is an amazing place and though you moved on, I’m sure you’ll have great memories of your time there and in Scotland. I love the Parc des Buttes Chaumont and I’m glad you had a chance to hang out there before you left. Thanks for sharing. Cheers.

  5. realoves says:

    Oh, my. Every time I read one of your posts I long to go back! So happy we were able to enjoy so much of it together! I will miss these gorgeous posts, but look forward to seeing the beauty of Florida through your lens!

  6. katemai says:

    Wow- I didn’t know any Americans learned to eat steak tartare! I’m duly impressed (and a bit repulsed…..). I hope my pics of Paris will assuage any homesickness you may feel!

  7. zelmare says:

    What a wonderful post! Thanks for sharing this. I’ve seen bits of Paris that I probably won’t ever see in real life, so I enjoyed this. That pulpit carved in stone is something unreal! I’ve got pics of one in Austria, totally different, but also quite amazing if you think the whole thing was carved from stone. Paris is such a beautiful city…I would love to go and spend more than 2/3 days there again, somewhere in the future…

  8. Judi Tome says:

    I have loved your posts, Rebecca. You have beautiful photography and such a way with words. Other than on tropical storm/hurricane days you will find Florida amazing. The sunsets are spectacular too! I can hardly wait to see your photographic views of the Sunshine State!

Leave a Reply

