So, south Florida, huh?


Scotty and I have been official residents of Fort Lauderdale for almost six weeks now and are definitely still adjusting. Our apartment is starting to look a bit more homey with the purchase of some furniture. We’re settling into new routines. I’ve started working on my MA and am really enjoying that. As I’m writing this, it just hit me that many of you may have no idea what brought us down here…So I guess I’ll back up and fill you in.

The entire time we were in France, Scotty was applying for jobs. As anyone in academia knows, it’s a tough market out there. In the midst of a lot of prayers, more than a few disappointing letters, we got news that there was a job possibility in south Florida. South Florida?!? You mean as in this south Florida?

Hmm… well this is going to be an adjustment. I started to get excited about all the sunshine, but outside of that I knew it would be a massive adjustment. Massive: Culturally, socially, economically, spiritually, and physically. This move would challenge us on every level. But having been through major transitions before, we are well aware that that is where growth happens and though it is painful, the end results are good.

The school that Scotty would be working at is Knox Theological Seminary and a funny thing had started happening in our Paris neighborhood. A graffiti artist started tagging our neighborhood with this:

We thought that was pretty cool and so, after that crazy cross-country travelling summer, here we are. And it’s another world. I’m trying to adjust my eyes to see the beauty around me. After five years of gorgeous architecture, grey layered skies, lovely little gardens, it’s taking me a bit to see past the Brutalist architecture, sterile strip malls, and tacky beach shops. But I know that there is amazing beauty to be found and it’s a good exercise to try to see more of it. Of course, the beach is beautiful but it’s too dang hot to spend more than five minutes down there! When the weather cools off, I’m sure we’ll be spending a lot of time soaking our toes and you’ll get lots of beach pics then.

One thing that Florida has going for it is a huge sky. With it being so incredibly flat, our 8th floor apartment view treats us to some amazing sunsets.

And the cloud formations and storms are pretty awesome.

And so this is now home. And we’re enjoying aspects, adjusting to others, and catching ourselves missing a lot of things about Paris and Edinburgh. It is a very strange feeling to be back in the country of your birth and feel homesick for another. But we are thankful for a place to land, sunshine on our skin, interesting jobs and opportunities. And one of my favorite things about being back is being able to text my sister any time. That’s pretty fantastic. Being closer to family and feeling more connected is a wonderful thing.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to So, south Florida, huh?

  1. Beth says:

    It’s a big transition but I’m so glad you both are home. I love being able to text too:)

  2. audrey says:

    I love it that YOU are working on your masters…finally. And secretly, I’d glad it is in Florida!

  3. zelmare says:

    Wow…world travellers settling down! Enjoy your new town, the exploring bit is always exciting. 🙂

  4. Bethy Manor says:

    These sunsets are beautiful! It takes time to build friendships the likes of which you forged so beautifully during you tenure at Edinburgh. But I know you, Becca, and Scotty, and you two will do it again……..

  5. I can identify with how you feel, I think….I’ve been living here in Illinois for quite awhile and I’m still missing my redwoods. However, like you, I am determined to see the beauty here. Maybe we are lucky, since we have to look harder, we’ll appreciate what we find that much more. I am knocked out by your cloud pictures.

  6. Katie says:

    Great to get a little update. Derek told me Scotty got a job but that was all I really knew! And you’re doing an MA?? Details! So happy for you guys.

  7. Becky says:

    I love that you added the Stephen Fry link! I always think of him when I think Florida!

Leave a Reply

