The MA


So quite a few of you have asked for details on the degree I started. To give you a visual, I stacked up the books I’m reading this semester as I thought that would be the best way to introduce you to what I will be studying for the next 18 months: The Classics.

So this semester I’m taking three classes. The first is Plato and Augustine and I’ve been reading some Hesiod as well as The Republic along with The City of God. I’m really interested in this course as we’ll be discussing justice, good, and politics. The dueling notion of earthy and heavenly cities and how those idea affect our lives is fascinating to me. My next course is Dante and Milton and we’ve read a couple of Aristophanes plays to establish classical ideas of comedy. We’re nearly all the way through Dante’s Comedy and I love re-reading the InfernoPurgatory and Paradise are new to me and I think I may even like them better than hell. It will be fun to contrast Dante’s comedic vision of the world and afterlife with Milton’s tragic vision. And finally, I’m taking an Old Testament survey course that will take me through the books of Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Joshua, Hosea, Judges, Ruth, and Samuel. So far I have found this course to be amazing. The professor ties everything to the New Testament showing how it all foretold the coming of Christ. It sort of boggles my mind in a lot of ways and I’m finding it stretching.

So there you have it, my reading for a semester. As an English major I’m loving being able to read and re-read some of these books. I feel like the cobwebs are being cleared and its fun to be a student again.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The MA

  1. Bethy Manor says:

    I’m so excited for you, Becca! What a wonderful mind stretching and ”spirit” stretching set of courses……..

  2. zelmare says:

    Enjoy! I’m embarrassed to say that I find reading the classics very difficult… 🙂

  3. pop says:

    Hesiod, yes, you will love. You will love. 🙂

  4. Marty says:

    Thanks for sharing the specifics of what you’re reading. That’s some heavy lifting but probably not for you!

Leave a Reply

