Chicago!


Well, this blog has collected a bit of dust. Have any of you caught on to the fact that I’m not finding much inspiration in my new surroundings? Despite my best efforts to see the beauty, this place just hasn’t grown on me yet. Maybe it will, maybe it won’t. Either way, I was thrilled to be able to go to Chicago with Scotty for the SBL/AAR conference. The weekend before Thanksgiving saw us enjoying gorgeous weather in the Windy City and catching up with dear friends over deep-dish pizza and Lebanese food.

Scotty had a paper accepted to the world’s largest conference on Biblical and religious literature so we took advantage of the excuse to book tickets to a city we hadn’t visited in over five years. Can I just say that it was good to be back in a city? After getting used to the bustle of Edinburgh and Paris and growing accustomed to walking everywhere I have definitely grown to appreciate the city. And I miss seeing beautiful buildings and Chicago is packed full of them. And we were blessed with gorgeous, sunny, mild weather.

Most importantly we got to see old friends from Edinburgh. I even got to get caught up with a friend from college who I hadn’t seen in a decade (it’s scary that I can now measure time in measures so large). It was soo good to see these faces that are so dear to me, to talk about life shifts, new and expected babies, the repatriation process, and recall memories from other times and places. These periods of reunion give me an even deeper appreciation for friendships forged over time. I’m not the best at keeping up with people once I move somewhere new but trips like this show me how important it is to maintain those friendships. So, it was an encouraging and fun time and one I’m deeply grateful for.

One gorgeous afternoon I went on an architectural boat tour with my friends Becky and Ashli. It was gorgeous. Here’s the pics:

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in photography, Thoughts, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chicago!

  1. Melanie says:

    Wow what a tall city!! I am mildly dissappointed in you. You always find inspiration.. even in lost bits of things on the street ;o) Although I do agree the energy of a city really helps and walking around I guess gives you time to find things. Mx

  2. Becky says:

    I love the perspective of looking up at tall buildings. Makes me feel like a shrimp. So exciting to feature in one of your posts! Now for the belly-dancer… 🙂

  3. Michael says:

    Thanks for the lovely pictures. Chicago is a great city, like New York, was there a couple of times. Love the wind and the snow in the Fall-Winter.

  4. Mother of Pearl says:

    I love that picture of the rope over the side of the boat.

    You are moving to a different phase of life now. Your source of beauty will change too. There is a great beauty in gainful employment for your sweetie and a settled home.

  5. pop says:

    I love pictures of big, tall buildings and cityscapes. They are fascinating. Something about how a building fills the sky. Gorgeous day too. That picture of the empty deck chairs facing the imposing cityscape is like something out of the movie, Inception. A little unsettling as far as the hugeness of it all. I’ve missed your posts and hope your inspiration comes back now that the weather has improved in Fort Laud.
    South Florida seems to make the news on the extreme side of things. Maybe you can show there are normal folks, with normal lives, who live there too! :0)

  6. So glad my adopted city gave you beauty and good weather to refresh your spirit! I loved the pictures…I’m more of a country girl but Chicago is a beautiful city and you showed her to good advantage.
    I hope South Florida shows you a lovely side to inspire you. I know how that feels, to live somewhere that totally leaves you flat.

  7. chicago is impressive)

Leave a Reply

