Moving on…


cropped-img_04291.jpgSome of you may have noticed that I have changed the name of the blog. With Paris long behind me and knowing I needed to move forward, I decided that yesterday was the day to do it. I’m not a huge fan of the new name but it will work for now. I do feel like I need to come up with a name that isn’t tied to a specific place. Scotty and I seem to have chosen a life that requires regular upheaval so the idea of home is one that is fascinating to me. Ultimately we believe that the earth (at least in its current state) is not our home and everyone is imbued with a longing for that more glorious home that is to come. And yet, in all the moves and transitions I’ve come to value the idea that home is a state of being…one that you can take with you and nurture no matter where you are. While my current address does not feel like it’s where I am most comfortable, I still have a sense of home. Despite the fact that we’ve only hung three pictures on our barren walls and we could use some more furniture (chairs stripped to the studs do not make for an inviting place to sit), there is a contentment in being where we know we’re supposed to be. Sure, this new place is lacking in a lot of the things I think make life beautiful and inspiring, but I am finding things to value. There are opportunities here for both of us that we didn’t have in our other homes and we’re starting to find our footing. So here’s to finding a sense of home no matter where life takes you.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Moving on…

  1. Eloquently expressed (well said)!

  2. Melanie says:

    That’s more like the Rebecca I know. Xx

  3. audrey says:

    I would never consider you fumbling. I love what you said about home is a state of being…

  4. Becky says:

    Love the ‘fumbling’ bit. For anyone connected to the academic life, ‘fumbling’ is a very apt description! ‘Stumbling’ also works well, given that many of us somehow seem to stumble into blessings we could not have conjured up for ourselves. But ‘fumbling’ is prettier.

  5. karin says:

    I love your perspective, Becca!

  6. Bethy Manor says:

    so well described………

  7. zelmare says:

    Amen. After all, home is where the heart is… 🙂

Leave a Reply

