Thanksgiving recap


IMG_0640

As most of you know, Thanksgiving is my family’s favorite holiday. There’s something about the simplicity of the day that appeals to us. And the fact that we all love good food certainly doesn’t hurt. I think it also has something to do with never having TV at the Berg household. Due to that wise choice on the part of my parents, we never had football, the Macy’s Day Parade, or Black Friday competing with our celebration. Thanksgiving has always meant time with family, giving thanks for our blessings, and enjoying delicious and lovingly prepared food. It’s really quite traditional and I love that so little of modernity encroaches on our lives during the Thanksgiving weekend.

This year the girls were treated to a morning yoga session led by Grace. Grace received her yoga certification this year and so it was really fun to have her lead us in a practice. It sure was fun to do some yoga with the beautiful ladies in my family. And what a setting, huh? Yoga on a cliff overlooking the Pacific really is perfect.IMG_0591

IMG_0629IMG_0628

IMG_0595

Impressive, no? Our fearless instructor, Grace.

IMG_0593

IMG_0632

Hilly had her hands full with the boys but managed to join us for the headstands.

IMG_0624After that it was off to the kitchen to prepare our French-style feast.

DSCF8897

IMG_0634

Escargot…so delicious!

I didn’t end up taking a whole lot of pictures, but I did get some shots of Hilary and her adorable family.

The weather was so gorgeous we had appetizers and champagne on the patio.

Sweet Tot!

DSCF8964

Josh and Grace

Scotty with Hilly and Brick.

And here’s the only picture I took during dinner. So silly of me.

Grace, Becca, Mom, and Solomon.

I really need to take more pictures. There are some important people who are missing from my photographic record…sorry Pop and Kate:(.

It was a perfect Thanksgiving and as we went around the table and shared things and memories we are grateful for my heart was very very full.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanksgiving recap

  1. Melissa says:

    Looks like Thanksgiving with your family was quite ideal. Loved the yoga shots! Isn’t Grace amazing, someday I will be able to do that handstand. LOL!!! Everything and everyone looks great, the kids have grown and the women quite beautiful, but what is the yellow stuff Rea is squirting out of the pastry tube?? Butter?? Polenta?? Looks beautiful whatever it is. Hopefully can see you next time you are in town. Hugs!
    Mel

  2. karin says:

    Your family has all the makings of a warm and comforting Hallmark movie (the good kind, without cheesy writing and nobody dies).

  3. I loved reading about your family’s Thanksgiving traditions that you know and love. It’s great that they are sans the typical traditions. Loved the yoga at the beach, Rea cooking and pix…missed seeing your sweet face.!

  4. pedmar10 says:

    Great photos,lovely family and greeat Thanksgiving. I missed mine this year for the first time in yeeears, away in country Brittany lol!

Leave a Reply

