Snowy Chautauqua


DSCF9201

My favorite barn in the county.

DSCF9123 - Version 2

My view from my favorite place in the house.

We spent a lovely nine days in Chautauqua, celebrating Christmas with Scotty’s family. We got to meet his sister’s fiancé, eat lots of yummy foods, cook for hours, celebrate Tim and Beth’s 41st anniversary, and see lots and lots of snow. It was a great time, even though all that snow delayed our flights by two days so our week-long stay was extended until New Year’s Eve.

DSCF9195

DSCF9174

“Thunder Bridge” on the grounds of the Institution.

DSCF9169

Quite possibly the sweetest church ever.

DSCF9153

The Boys and Girls Club at the Institution.

DSCF9150

Looking up toward the Hall of Philosophy.

DSCF9145

The Atheneum Hotel, where Scotty’s sister’s wedding reception will be held.

DSCF9142

Winterized houses on the grounds.

As you all know, I’ve not been terribly inspired to take photos recently but all the lovely snow ignited a spark and I spent part of a morning walking around and taking pictures. Some of these are taken in the areas around where we were staying, others were taken on the grounds of the Chautauqua Institution. DSCF9194 DSCF9189 DSCF9188 DSCF9186 DSCF9184 DSCF9183 DSCF9182 DSCF9177 DSCF9170 DSCF9165 DSCF9162 DSCF9161 DSCF9157 DSCF9154 DSCF9143 DSCF9141 DSCF9139 DSCF9138 DSCF9135 DSCF9129 DSCF9119

The view from the house. It was incredibly peaceful to sit inside, Christmas music playing, and just stare out at the lake.

The view from the house. It was incredibly peaceful to sit inside, Christmas music playing, and just stare out at the lake.

DSCF9118

I hope you all had a good holiday break. Thanks for spending another year checking up on me here. I would say that my new year resolution is to blog more, but I am not sure that it is. I may be blogging less, but trying to be more intentional with what I do write. We’ll see.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Chautauqua and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Snowy Chautauqua

  1. Lovely photos, Rebecca!
    If you like photography, we’d like to invite you to participate in our next Travel Photography Competition. Here are the details:
    http://hitchhikershandbook.com/your-contributions/travel-photography/
    Happy travels!

  2. Michael says:

    Happy New Year. Lovely pictures, that’s my kind of weather. My wife got a tour of Chautauqua when she visited her sister in Jamestown. Wish I could be there now.

  3. Kate says:

    Beautiful photos!

  4. Val says:

    Is the red and white stripiness painted or is it fabric?

    • Rebecca says:

      The red and white is thick canvas that people put over their houses to winterize them. It’s sort of like giant boat covers. I guess it helps reduce the weather effects on paint, wood, etc. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

