January recap


DSCF9267

Well this blog is barely chugging along isn’t it? I checked out how many posts I managed in January last year and it was 27. Now we’re in February and I think I posted twice last month. Of course, when you have photos of Paris posting is a lot easier. Just pop a picture of something beautiful up on the blog and you’re done.

January was busy and strange for both Scotty and me. Scotty’s family got seriously hit with two family members in the hospital, another sick with mono, and everyone trying to figure out the logistics of caring for the patients who were in New York and Florida. All this meant that Scotty and I spent a good amount of time (10 days for Scotty, and 16 days for me) back up in NY, making runs to the hospital in Erie, PA and caring for Scotty’s mom when we were able to bring her home from the hospital.

Scotty and I became experts in ostomy care and have a new vocabulary to prove it. If you’ve ever had the experience of caring for someone with an ostomy, you will understand this next paragraph. If not, you can skip it and move on to the pictures! We know where to get ostomy supplies in upstate NY and western PA (basically tiny little pharmacies in remote locations or amazon!), we know the difference between one-piece and two-piece ostomy systems.  We also know that skin paste, skin barriers, and stomadhesive don’t work. We know the different between convex flanges and flat ones. We figured out that heating the wafer with a blow dryer before attaching it to the skin is key. And we know more than the home nurses about making sure the skin around the stoma isn’t too irritated. Thankfully, all of this is a temporary state of affairs and Scotty’s mom will be going back for corrective surgery in a couple of months.

While we were in NY we experienced some really strange weather. I arrived at the tail end of the “January thaw” and was treated to one day of balmy weather. During the thaw the warm air meets the cold lake water and creates this lovely fog that hangs over everything.

DSCF9233

DSCF9226

The next day the temps were down to the mid 20s (F) and snow was on its way.

DSCF9234

Snowfall #1

Snowfall #1

And it just kept on coming.

DSCF9253

If I was a bird and had wings…I would not have stuck around for this. In fact, all these crazy birds just stayed there despite tons of snow, temperatures below zero and the fact that the lake eventually froze over so much that people were driving their snowmobiles across it!

DSCF9242By the time we left the picnic table featured below looked like an igloo.

DSCF9255While we were in NY, I celebrated my birthday. My sweet mom surprised me the morning of my birthday with a text saying that I had an appointment for a massage that day! And Scotty baked me a gluten-free birthday cake! It was definitely an unexpected way to bring in this year of life but I was grateful that Scotty and I had the flexibility to be able to pitch in where there was a need.

We got back home a week ago only to learn the next day that a dear member of Scotty’s family had passed away. We’re all going to miss Annie very much. She was a dynamic woman who thought for herself, has a great sense of humor, and brought joy to many people. I always loved talking with Annie because she had great stories. As the Presbyterian minister’s wife in a small town she argued against censorship in schools by saying that if books were going to be banned from schools for inappropriate content they’d better include the Bible on the list. That sure shut down the school board. Annie’s personality was both feisty and loving and she will definitely be missed.

And that about covers it for the month of January. I am looking forward to posting more this month because I got an awesome birthday gift from my mom and sister, a Staub cocotte and I have been having so much fun cooking with it. I can’t wait to share some of my recipes.

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to January recap

  1. Everyone loves your recipes, we all can’t wait to see what beautiful things you will create! Hugs!!
    Mel

  2. karin says:

    I am so sorry to hear about all the illnesses and the passing of Annie. She sounded like a delightful character! Please let Scotty and Mrs, Manor know that I am praying for them. And what a sweet gift of a massage! Your mom is one smart lady! And I think these photos are even MORE beautiful than the ones of Paris 🙂

  3. What a difficult challenges have been coming your way. I am sorry for the illnesses and loss you’ve experienced. As you are being stretched, remember to be kind and patient with yourself!

  4. Solomon says:

    Sorry for Annie’s passing. I’m happy she seemed to live a good long life though! I hope today goes well and know that I am thinking and praying for you guys. Love you.

  5. Bethy Manor says:

    To Scotty and Becca: Thanks so much for all of your TLC while I was in the hospital, and especially after I was released to go back to the lake. You will never know how deeply I appreciate all of your care and the delicious homemade chicken soup that tasted so great! The corrective surgery is scheduled in a little more than 3 weeks – I will be so grateful to be rid of this ostomy bag,

Leave a Reply

