Brussels Sprouts Crisps


DSCF9337When my friend Becky posted this link (Beyond Kale: 7 More Chips Made From Leafy Greens) on Facebook, I knew I had to try some of these delicious looking recipes. I mean, who doesn’t love crispy, salty, veggies? Once I saw the recipe for Brussels Sprouts Chips, I knew I had to try making those. And. oh.my.goodness. They’re yummy. Here’s the link to the original recipe from thekitchn. I basically followed it with a few adjustments and was thrilled with the results. One of the adjustments was to use 1/2 expeller pressed coconut oil. I did that to raise the smoking point of the oil and as the expeller pressed oil has no coconutty flavor, it worked like a charm. The second time I made them I added some tumeric and cayenne powder to the mix and loved the spicy/curry flavor. As you can see in the picture above, I cooked mine until they were quite crisp, but if you want to preserve more green, follow the original recipe and don’t increase the oven temp to 400° (oops). Here’s how to do it.

Brussels Sprouts Chips

  • 1 to 2 cups (or more) rough outer leaves from your Brussels Sprouts 
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon expeller pressed coconut oil
  • salt to taste
  • curry spices or other spices

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Wash leaves. Dry thoroughly. Place Brussels sprouts leaves in a bowl and add the oils, salt, and any spices you are using.

DSCF9327

Using your hands rub each leaf to ensure that it is coated with oil. Spread in a single layer on a cookie sheet (you may need two). I lined the sheets with parchment paper and that ensured the the leaves didn’t stick and cleanup was a breeze.

DSCF9280

Place in hot oven and let cook for 10-12 minutes until crisp. Remove and serve immediately. These are perfect hot from the oven when you can hear them crackling. They do start to wilt after a little while so this is not a make-ahead dish. And they taste best when they’re warm.

DSCF9334

 

Enjoy!

 

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brussels Sprouts Crisps

  1. Becky says:

    Oh my, those look fantastic! I’ve been meaning to convert all my leafy greens into chips…maybe that’s what I should do with those collard greens at the back of the fridge that I don’t know what to do with!

  2. WOW! These sounds amazing.
    did you use all of the leaves from the brussels or just the outer guys? If so, what did you do with the inner part – regular roasting?

    Thanks for sharing. Great photographs!

  3. Totally trying this, amazed this hadn’t crossed my mind before!

Leave a Reply

