Merry Christmas from the Manors


DSCF1488 - Version 2

What a year it has been! Despite all my best intentions t0 send out Christmas cards, the stack of lovely letterpress ones that I bought is sitting here mocking me. So, I figured I could fire up the blog again. I’ve been missing blogging and watching the days slip by without aIMG_1077ny record. One of the things I enjoyed the most about having the blog was putting intentional effort into observing and recording the little gifts that each day gives. Since Iren’s birth (already a year ago!), my heart has been full with the realization of how full each day is with tender mercies and fresh starts amidst the chaos of raising a child.

As a quick update, we’re in the midst of our third year in South Florida. The place is growing on us and we are laying down some roots and we bought a house. There’s a little guest room, so plan your visit! Scotty continues to work at Knox Theological Seminary where he is the VP of Academics. I’m slowing working through my Master’s degree and continuing my work for BFB. I’ve been very blessed to have a group of first time moms atIMG_2502 our church and Iren is growing up with some really dear friends.

And speaking of Iren, he’s a joy. An extremely active little guy, he’s full of life and noise and definitely knows what he wants. After waiting a long time to take the plunge, both Scotty and I have found parenthood to be amazing. Yes, as our friend Derek says, we’ve entered into the world of cliché and say things like, “kids change everything,” and “it’s amazing…and exhausting” and we think that our baby is the most incredible person we’ve ever met! And despite the platitudes, it has made us both a little bit more aware of the amazing love that God has for us, his broken, stubborn, willful children. So, Christmas takes on a deeper significance as we think of the gravity of sending one’s own son into a heartless and cruel world in order that it might be saved. We chose Iren’s name because it means peace. During this Advent and Christmas season we are so thankful that when Christ left this world he left it with this promise:

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” John 14:27

Happy New Year!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Life in Paris. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Merry Christmas from the Manors

  1. karintome says:

    Oh I love update! Merry Christmas! And can we get a video house tour like we did when you lived in Scotland? Because South Florida is pretty much another country.

  2. audrasena says:

    Glad the blog is warming back up. Missed your missives.

  3. Glad to hear you are doing well Becca!!! Your boy is sooooo cute!! 🙂 **

Leave a Reply

