Mexican Omelettes


3563150750_44685ddc5d

I don’t really know if this is “Mexican” but it does have some Mexican flavors, so that’s what I’m going with…again, name suggestions accepted and appreciated.  

Mexican Omlettes (2)

  • 1 medium potato, diced
  • 1/2 yellow pepper, diced
  • large handful of spinach
  • cooking oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • mature or sharp cheddar, grated
  • 3-4 small vine-ripened tomatoes, chopped 
  • 1 green onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 bunch of fresh cilantro/coriander, chopped
  • ground cayenne
  • ground paprika – I like mine really smokey
  • freshly ground pepper
  • salt
  • sour cream (completely optional)

Mix the tomatoes, green onion and coriander.  Add a tiny bit of salt and stir to mix.  Set aside.  With a whisk, beat the eggs and milk together.   Season with a little salt, pepper, and cayenne.  Set aside.  

Heat some oil in frying pan.  Add potatoes and season generously with paprika, cayenne, and salt.  Cook at medium high so that the potatoes form a nice crisp crust.  Once potatoes are nearly cooked through, add the chopped yellow pepper.

3562321947_dc6c4554b9

Cook until yellow pepper is tender.  Add spinach and cook until wilted. 

3563137896_09f26337d5

Remove from pan.  Heat some butter or oil (whatever you prefer to cook your eggs in) and pour in 1/2 of egg mixture.  Cook gently until nearly cooked through.  Add 1/2 of the potato mixture.

3563139130_ef8bdcc491

Sprinkle with grated cheddar.

3563139774_8a673b0d14

Fold over:

3563140226_b14f5da092

Let cook briefly to allow cheese to melt.  Place on plate and top with 1/2 of the tomato mixtures.  Add a dab of sour cream.  Repeat to make second omelette and enjoy with someone you love.

3562331081_2b21f45f65

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mexican Omelettes

  1. POP says:

    Dang….why do I look at your blog any time of the day and get HUNGRY! I’d pay 100 pesos for this omelette right now. Excuse me a minute while I put a fork into my screen….

  2. lailablogs says:

    Looks absolutely delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

Leave a comment