Chili Chicken Pittas


Enjoy!

Chili Chicken Stuffed Pittas

The other day I walked into Mel Bell’s, a local organic grocery around the corner from our flat, and found that they offer “grab bags” with attached recipes.  That day they were offering “Chilli Chicken Pitta with Yoghurt and Salad” and it looked delicious.  So I snapped up the ingredients I needed and gave it a whirl.  The pittas were delicious!  And healthy!  And Scotty and I really enjoyed them.  I made it again tonight and am now sharing my adaptation of the recipe. 

Chili Chicken Stuffed Pittas

  • Chicken – 2-3 breasts cut into strips
  • Whole wheat Pittas – 5-6 (I think whole wheat here is pretty important as it adds to the flavor)
  • Lettuce
  • Tomatoes
  • 1 cup plain yoghurt
  • 2-3 green onions
  • 1 large clove garlic (0r two small cloves) pressed
  • 1/2 teaspoon cheyenne powder
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika (the smokier the better)
  • Juice and zest from one lemon
  • Olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • salt and pepper

Make a marinade with the olive oil (about a tablespoon), honey, cheyenne, paprika, and garlic.  Add chicken, stir to make sure each chicken piece is thoroughly covered and allow to marinate while you prepare the other ingredients.  

Marinating chicken

Marinating chicken

Chop tomato.  Thinly slice green onions and lettuce.  Mix tomatoes, green onions, and lettuce.  Salt to taste.

Slicing green onions

Slicing green onions

In a separate bowl, mix yoghurt, lemon juice and zest, and olive oil (about 1-2 teaspoons) until well blended and creamy.

Yoghurt Sauce

Yoghurt Sauce

In a frying pan cook the chicken until done – should be a bit crispy.  While you’re cooking the chicken, toast the pittas.  

Cooking the chicken

Cooking the chicken

When the chicken is done you’re ready to start assembling your pittas.  Slice open one long side of each pitta (be careful as hot steam can get trapped inside the pocket and you can burn yourself pretty easily – I speaking from experience).  Stuff pittas with chicken, drizzle on some yoghurt sauce, add salad mixture, and top with additional yoghurt sauce.  Serve with additional yoghurt sauce – I end up adding more as I eat ’cause it’s so good. Enjoy!  

Scrummy!

Scrummy!

About Rebecca

Hi! After five years in Europe, I'm adjusting to life back in the US. I use this blog to record my adventures, post photos, organize recipes, and post about things that interest me.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Edinburgh, photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chili Chicken Pittas

  1. Bethy J says:

    …mmm very yummy looking Becca…can’t wait to try these pittas!

  2. Sloane says:

    looks soo good!! I’m definitely going to make this week!

  3. POP says:

    Brilliant! I’m at Trader Joe’s right now getting the necessary ingredients! Yum…

  4. Sloane says:

    So I made these last night, and they were soooo good! Shane was very happy with the result and I thought they were easy and yummy. Thanks for the idea!

  5. Scotty says:

    I’m totally jazzed that we’re going to be having these for dinner tonight. I am a BIG fan. My stomach is growling…

Leave a comment